30 Days of Thankfulness

I’ve been participating in 30 Days of Thankfulness over on The Facebook.  Normally I don’t participate in trendy things like that, but I thought I could use this as an opportunity to explore the positive sides of some of the crappier parts of life.  Every owie is an opportunity, as they say (“they” being some assholes somewhere inside my brain who say sappy shit like that).

As we’re just over halfway through the month, I thought I’d share the first 15 days here.  For posterity.  And self-promotion.  Enjoy!

Day 1: I’m thankful for the profound, penetrating moments of silence that are only heard when you’re wholly alone.

Day 2: Today I am thankful for the physical manifestation of my feelings, reminding me how alive I am, and how that simple fact is incredibly significant.

Day 3: I’m thankful for the dark stillness of the morning, while the rest of my world is still asleep.

Day 4: I’m thankful for all the love I’ve gained and lost, and all it taught me when I was willing to listen.

Day 5: Today I’m thankful for the deep ache of loneliness, and how it reminds me both of what’s important to me, and how I still need to grow.

Day 6: I’m thankful for a job that, stressful and vexing as it sometimes is, allows me to feel appreciated and valuable. And also that pays money.

Day 7: I’m thankful for the beautiful relativity of life, for the exhaustion that makes us collapse blissfully into rest, the loneliness that makes the glow of companionship so much warmer, the rough seas that push us into calmer waters.

Day 8: Today I’m thankful for self-awareness, such that even though I can’t control my feelings, I can see them, understand them, and choose how I act.

Day 9: Today I’m thankful for the quiet victories in life, for the moments you discover how far you’ve come, and the soft warmth that brings to the heart.

Day 10: I’m thankful for the things that make us all the same, no matter who we are or from whence we came.

Day 11: I’m thankful for language, for its ability to link us all together, to get inside us and tug on things, caress them, rearrange them.

Day 12: I’m thankful for hugs. They’re basically the best thing ever. And I’m thankful for the feeling of a hug after you’ve not had a hug for a REALLY long time, and it’s all warm and squeezy. Man, hugs. Yeah.

Day 13: I’m thankful to have learned that while I can’t avoid pain, or anxiety, or fear, or hurt, I can see them with quiet curiosity. I can turn them around in my hand, hold them close while I need to, then release them into the sky when they’re ready to be gone. And I’m thankful for the safety in that.

Day 14: I’m thankful that through it all, no matter what, at least I still have me.

Day 15: Today, I am thankful for my friends. I am blessed with a wealth of loving, supportive, brilliant, hilarious, amazing friends who are almost always there when I need an ear or hug or a shot of whiskey. I love you to the ends of the earth and back, and round one more time. ♥

3 thoughts on “30 Days of Thankfulness

  1. Pingback: Being Thankful, Final Days « Sarah Hartman

  2. Pingback: Counting Down « It Just Dawned On Me

Leave a Reply

