Hit & …Convert?

I was leaving work to go to the gym today, and was stopped at the exit from the parking lot behind a beat up old Blazer.  Suddenly, the guy in the Blazer threw it into reverse and started backing up and rammed into me, busting my headlight and putting a big scuff and a hole in my bumper.

He was a nice enough guy; he immediately admitted fault.  He said he understood when I said I had to file a police report.  We chatted while we waited 40 minutes for the cops.

Why am I writing about this?  Certainly not because a little fender-bender is particularly interesting.  And not because I want you to feel sorry for me for being in an accident.  No, I’m writing because of what happened as we were standing there, waiting for the police, chit-chatting.

“This must have happened for a reason!” he drawled.  “I met you today for a REASON!”  At first I thought he was trying to pick me up.  Which was kinda gross, because he was twice my age (not necessarily a bad thing) and, um, pretty nasty (and since I don’t mean “nasty” in a good way, that IS a bad thing).  But he followed that up with, “I’m a Christian.  I go to such-and-such evangelical church.  And I believe everything happens for a reason.   So we must have met today for a reason!”

I’m not a Christian, but I believe everything happens for a reason, too.  I’m pretty sure the reason our destinies (and our automobiles) collided today was that you’re an inattentive dumbass.

Leave a Reply

